Miss Iroquois County crowned 2018 Miss Illinois County Fair Queen

SPRINGFIELD, IL – Samantha Hasselbring of Cissna Park, is the new 2018 Miss Illinois County Fair Queen. Hasselbring represented Iroquois County in the 59th annual Miss Illinois County Fair Queen Pageant at the Crowne Plaza in Springfield. The pageant is held in conjunction with the annual Illinois Association of Agricultural Fairs (IAAF) Convention.

As Queen, Hasselbring, will serve as the hostess for both the Illinois State Fair in Springfield and the Du Quoin State Fair in Du Quoin. Director of Agriculture, Raymond Poe, was there to assist the 2017 Miss Illinois County Fair Queen, Claudia VanOpdorp, in the crowning.

“It’s an honor to help crown the Miss Illinois County Fair Queen,” said Director Poe. “All of these young ladies work hard to get here for a chance to represent agriculture and their county fairs. Samantha will have a busy year ahead and we are excited to have her as the official hostess of our State Fairs.”

Hasselbring is the first queen from Iroquois County to hold the state title. She hopes to be a voice for agriculture and believes growing up on her family farm will help her do that. Her future plans include getting her master’s degree in Elementary Education from Millikin University with a concentration in English as a Second Language (ESL) & Special Education.

Seventy county fair queens participated in the competition during the four-day event. During the finals competition Sunday evening a Top 15 were announced in addition to the runners up and non-finalist awards. They included:

Becca Fisher (Henry),

Gracie Richardson (Morgan),

Danielle Sheetz (Hancock),

Danielle Rondeau (Western Illinois),

Kylar Craig (Richland) – 1st Runner Up,

Morgan Wright (Vermilion),

Meg Meeker (Logan) – 3rd Runner Up,

Samantha Hasselbring (Iroquois) – 2018 Miss Illinois County Fair Queen,

Carson Goff (Tazewell),

Maria Lueken (Effingham),

Colleen Nichols (Macoupin),

Grace Keller (Lake),

Heather Simpson (Georgetown) – 4th Runner Up,

Emily Kuberski (Perry) – 2nd Runner Up, and

Juliana Fray (Pike).


Non-finalist awards were handed out to the following:

Best Non-Finalist in Interview (Alexis Benson – Marshall-Putnam),

Best Non-Finalist in Communication Skills (Brianna Legner – Bureau),

Best Non-Finalist in Stage Presence (Meghan Ingram – Edgar),

Best Non-Finalist in Beauty Physique (Mikayla Stanfield – Clay),

Ruby Crum Memorial (Madison Cowell – Cass), and

People’s Choice (Peighton Parks – White)